flag zones not working

General talk about the map making process.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

flag zones not working

Post by Ck_asdf »

I've set up various zones in my CTF map which do things like drop teams on their bases and certain flags in their places. Two zones I set up are lasers in front of each base up on the main building. One laser per side. Unfortunately, upon testing the room, it seems that sometimes BOTH laser flags are in front of one of the bases, leaving the other base laser-less.
bashir.se.wp.cc.nc.us:5156

Here's the zone code I use:

Code: Select all

zone
	name bL
	position 350 -350 16
	size 1 1 1
	rotation 0
	flag L
end

zone
	name rL
	position -350 350 16
	size 1 1 1
	rotation 0
	flag L
end
blueLaser and redLaser. When it works right, they are both in the correct positions, but when it doesn't, both of them end up at one base, exactly next to each other (if I pick up one flag, move back, and drop it, it'll reveal the other laser flag sitting right there).

Suggestions as to how to make sure each flag goes where it belongs?
Image
dango
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:40 pm
Location: Somewhere over there.

Post by dango »

try:

Code: Select all

zone
   name bL
   position 350 -350 16
   size 1 1 1
   rotation 0
   flag L{1}
end

zone
   name rL
   position -350 350 16
   size 1 1 1
   rotation 0
   flag L{1}
end
Image
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

oh, cool, so I can specify how many I want at each place? awesome!

So say I have five cloak flags, right? And I want one specifically in placeA, one specifically in placeB, and the other three scattered randomly. All I have to do is:

Code: Select all

zone
  name placeA
  position -100 -100 0
  size 1 1 1
  rotation 0
  flag CL(1)
end

zone
  name placeB
  position 100 100 0
  size 1 1 1
  rotation 0
  flag CL(1)
end
And the other three will be scattered, right?
Image
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

Are you sure that that is supposed to work? Because it's not working for me. I've tried:

Code: Select all

flag L(1)
flag L (1)
flag L{1}
flag L {1}
flag L[1]
flag L [1]
(So you know, the second set uses curly braces.)

and none of those worked. All of them gave me the same error:
[ck@worf ~]$ bzfs -conf ctf.txt
using group file "group.txt"
worlds/sctf.bzw: warning (line 553): unknown object parameter "flag" - skipping
What am I to do to get the lasers to stay where they belong?
An interesting note: I did several flag resets while in the server (with the above option turned off, so no errors would occur), and sometimes both flags would drop where they were supposed to, sometimes both flags would drop on the blue side, and sometimes both would drop on the red side.

Thanks for trying ...
Image
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

any suggestions?
Image
User avatar
TD-Linux
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Post by TD-Linux »

me1's code is wrong. You only use the curly braces on the bzfs server command line.

I don't think there is any way other than plopping 20 laser flags in the map. This problem is often evident in BoxyWar.

There might be a way to accomplish what you want, but I do not know it.
User avatar
Ck_asdf
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: 28655
Contact:

Post by Ck_asdf »

yeah, but if I have 20 lasers, then when people drop them where they may be, they'll be scattered about the map, right? I only want two to be available ...

You said something about using curly braces on the command line - are you saying it's possible, if I use it within the command? How would I go about doing that?

Or are you just saying this: "+f L{2}"
ah, well ...


Might there be a chance this could be something in the newest version of bz? A way to set the flags in their zones, and not wander off to one of the other zones? Devs??

Later, thanks!
Image
Post Reply