Discussion: a new style of play?

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
Sky King
Private First Class
Private First Class

Discussion: a new style of play?

Post by Sky King »

I'm curious if this has been discussed, I'm assuming it's not trivial from a client development standpoint, but perhaps it is.

As a combat vet, I love maps/servers that more closely mimic real battle dynamics. There are no flags on the battlefield, what you pack when you leave home is what you fight with while you're there. As a commander, my job was to make sure soldiers went to the field with the right mix of weapons and capabilities for the mission ahead.

So, what if there was team-style play wherein you had to join with one weapon, and use that weapon throughout, with no flags.

For instance, a 4 on 4 team room where each team gets one laser, one shockwave, one rapid fire, and one machine gun. You decide which weapon suits which player, and then you go in, having only that weapon.

Some rooms could involve one wing, which just like in real life could be used for attack or reconnaissance.

Such a setup requires a little thinking, more teamwork, and better tactics.

Thoughts? has this been discussed? Too difficult technically? already been done?

It could be loosely approximated by having 4 flags back at each base, and they only reconstitute there, and you can only spawn there... the difference in that case would be that players could still drop flags and revert to deault tank behavior, and also change flags with others... maybe that's close enough?
MonsterMan++
Private First Class
Private First Class

Post by MonsterMan++ »

That's already been done except I think it goes: RED=SW, GREEN=LASER, BLUE=WINGS and PURPLE=GENO. It was done quite a while ago actually but I think it wouldn't hurt to do it again.
Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity.
-George Carlin

If you can't beat them, arrange to have them beaten.
-George Carlin