Find Server empty

Help with Setup, Hardware, Performance or other Issues...Or just pimp your rig.
FBusher
Private
Private

Find Server empty

Post by FBusher »

Hi all, I am trying to set up the new version of BZFlag at work to have some lunch time fun (its OK I work in a school and its great as a carrot/stick approach) but from about Version 1.8 (The big change version)+ I can not find any servers in the find server list, with or without -nolist.
We are behind a router and firewall so I dont expect to find any external servers but running a server locally and running a client on the same PC shows no results. I guess I could create a shortcut to each server, we run three usually and no personal ones, but it is easier to swap between servers with the list.
We are running XP thoughout with 2003 servers and we have tried running BZFS on the servers and on a station with no luck.
Is there anything that anyone knows can be configured or do I just stick with 1.7? Wont somebody think of the children!!!! :D

Many Thanks
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Post by JeffM »

1.8 was a dev only version that died.

you want the current version 2.0
ImageJeffM
FBusher
Private
Private

Post by FBusher »

Sorry, some confusion there. I said the new version, meaning 2.0.0, but we tried previous versions till we found one that worked and 1.8 was the last to not work. We are currently running 1.7g0 fine, finding servers on our network, but upgrading to any newer version means we can't find servers in GUI. We can connect to them if we put in details by hand but not from the the find server option.
JeffM
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Post by JeffM »

yes, mostly people run the latest version.

1.8 won't ever work, it was not a real version, never released or finished.

at 1.10 there was major list server change. It was moved to a web page.

If your behind a prox server or something that will block web acceess, then you may have issues.