Page 1 of 1

Claustrophobia - beta complete

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 1:27 am
by *Boinkage*!
Hi, all.

I've given up on my obstacle maze, and I am working on a close combat map. As the name implies, I put everything so it is restricted, so ricochet would be a godsend here ;p. Of course, there would be no jumping and maybe no radar.
EDIT: A newer map posted on. I'm starting the manual editing part of it.

Oh, and is there a way to simply make a material that says something like this?

material
name example_material
texture example_texture
end

Or do I need EVERYTHING in the code?

New Version:

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:00 pm
by Joe-Schmoe
You can leave out any parameters that you don't actually need, you can leave out "rotation 0" on boxes, etc. although you will ALWAYS need a name when defining a material.

Re: Claustrophobia

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:20 pm
by CUPCAKE
*Boinkage*! wrote: Oh, and is there a way to simply make a material that says something like this?

material
name example_material
texture example_texture
end
Well, it should actually be:

Code: Select all

material
   name example_material
   texture http://example_URL
end
Just in case you didn't already know that. Indenting is always good too.
Of course, you can always add color to the texture too:

Code: Select all

material
   name example_material
   texture http://example_URL
   color 0 1 0 0 0.5
end
Which would make it green and a bit transparent.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:53 pm
by *Boinkage*!
Question: With the texture URL, does it have to go to s special page, or any image, even if it is on your computer? (http:\\C:...)

The map has some anti-camp stuff, and I'm working on some more hiding places. Is world size measured from the dead center of the map, or from a corner? If it is from the mid, I could make the world smaller to reduce hacking a bit. I'll post it a little later today.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:02 pm
by CannonBallGuy
How do you expect someone to use a texture on your C drive? :/

Dude, host it online somewhere.

Also, in response to Cupcake, what do you suggest I do if I want to use the wall texture somewhere else in my map, for example?
I better host that online too!

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:39 pm
by *Boinkage*!
Like hosting it on Image Shack or something? If so, could I do something like taking the green base texture, then using it in my map? Also, is there some place with some textures for BZFlag (like a database sorta)? Sorry for using so many questions :oops: .

Oh, and could I just make a texture like this:

texture
name whatever
color 0 0 1 0 0.5
end

AND can I make a death pyramid, or does that not work?

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:43 pm
by macsforme
*Boinkage*! wrote:Like hosting it on Image Shack or something?
Use the image submitter. http://images.bzflag.org/submitimages

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:48 pm
by *Boinkage*!
Alright, thanks. Can I get stuff from it, or is it ONLY things I upload?

Also, I'm having problems with my bases. They look like this:

base
name BlueBase
position 30 30 0
size 30 30 0
color 3
end

However, they are one unit high! This has never happened before, and it i very odd.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:55 pm
by CUPCAKE
death pyramid:

Code: Select all

physics
   name deathpyr
   death You touched the death pyramid!!!
end

meshpyr
   position 0 0 0
   size 10 10 10
   phydrv deathpyr
end
and yes you can make a material with just color.

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:57 pm
by *Boinkage*!
Ohhh there's mesh pyramids too! I didn't know that.

I'm going to line the wall in a base's zone with their color. BTW, what is the fifth thingy in the color line? I know it's Red Green Blue ??? Alpha (transparency, right?)

EIDT: I' m so stupid. I realized I was running my base map (without any special stuff). That screwed the bases up :oops: .

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 11:03 pm
by Joe-Schmoe
I thought the fourth number is transparency. 1 is opaque, 0 is invisible. You can use decimals to make it translucent. I'm not sure what alpha is, I think that makes it give off light, correct?

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 11:07 pm
by CUPCAKE
R G B A

hmm... looks like I wrote it wrong. Sorry!

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 11:23 pm
by blast

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:37 am
by *Boinkage*!
The question remains: Do I HAVE to upload things, because it is fabulously confusing, or can I download other textures people have put up?

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:06 am
by CUPCAKE
You can use the URL of other people's textures, but for many things its best to ask permission first.

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:08 am
by Triumph of the Soul
You can use other peoples' textures on your map, but you need to get permission to use those textures as needed. And why would you need to submit images in the first place if you could just use somebody else's? Unless yours aren't very original or specific to your map. And could you tell us what is confusing about following the image submitter directions?

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:48 pm
by *Boinkage*!
Mainly the number of licenses you can use, as I'm completely baffled by them.

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:37 pm
by CannonBallGuy
*Boinkage*! wrote:Mainly the number of licenses you can use, as I'm completely baffled by them.
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/ might help you.

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 2:14 am
by *Boinkage*!
I'm losing momentum.. Posting the final beta. I am trying to fix everything up so it will have none of the weird overlap problem. I can't find the blocks in the code ANYWHERE!