USB Portable?

Make suggestions for improving one of the best games on the net!
StuntMan0404
Private First Class
Private First Class

USB Portable?

Post by StuntMan0404 »

K, I'm a comlete noob at this but i was wondering if it would be at all possible to create a version of BZFlag that ran off a usb drive without leaving any files on the actual computer. I got the idea from http://www.portableapps.com which has usb apps for all sorts of stuff, so i was just wondering if this could work. Like i said, im a total noob so i have no idea.
Spazzy McGee
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Post by Spazzy McGee »

I believe Saturos made a bzflag Live CD, prehaps you should talk to him. I think it was called 'BZAnywhere' - try searching the forums for it.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." - John Lennon
StuntMan0404
Private First Class
Private First Class

Post by StuntMan0404 »

k, thanks.
Longhair
Private First Class
Private First Class

Post by Longhair »

Sounds like a great idea to me either way. How about both?

Live CDs are great for demonstrating Linux, and for taking a complete set of tools with you. (office software, browser, antivirus, system rescue, etc.).
The big disadvantage of the live CD is that you need to have the proper accelerated OpenGL drivers work on just about anything, and do it automatically. You also need to be able to reboot the computer in question, AND have access to the BIOS setup in case the CD drive is too low on the boot priority list. I'm also thinking of a friend of mine's computer I tried using Knoppix on. You simply can't boot from a live CD on his computer. (and it ain't a windoze 98 box, either! )

The big thing about having a portable app version of BZFlag is that all of the drivers should be in place already, you don't have to reboot, you don't have to monkey w/ the BIOS, and a lot of us carry these little keys around anyhow.